Skip to content
June 12, 2010 / Sarah

National Peanut Butter Cookie Day


I may have spoken too soon about the peanut butter cookies being easy to make…  Yes, there are only 4 ingredients (plus the optional finely chopped peanuts) but somehow I managed to burn my cookies.  In case you are wondering, the smell of burnt peanut butter is really not appealing; not that the smell of burnt anything is appealing, but you know.  I am not one that has a tendency to burn things very often (not to say that I never have) so it honestly shocked me that these came out burnt.  But looking back at the picture on the original recipe, I think that I may have smashed down my cookies too much so instead of turning golden brown they turned black.

Anyway, I think the recipe is worth trying and next time I get the craving for peanut butter cookies, this will be the one I use.

Crunchy Peanut Butter Cookies
From Food & Wine

1 cup smooth peanut butter
1 cup sugar
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 extra-large egg, lightly beaten
2 tablespoons finely chopped peanuts (optional)

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F and position 2 racks in the upper and lower thirds.
  2. In a medium bowl, mix the peanut butter with the sugar, baking soda and egg. Stir in the peanuts.
  3. Roll tablespoons of the dough into 24 balls. Set the balls on 2 baking sheets, and using a fork, make a crosshatch pattern on each cookie. Bake for 15 minutes, shifting the baking sheets from front to back and bottom to top, until the cookies are lightly browned and set. Let cool on a wire rack.
3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Erin & Aaron Jones / Jun 12 2010 6:59 pm

    Wow….I’ve never heard of cookies without flour…interesting…

    • Sarah / Jun 12 2010 7:25 pm

      I’m glad they didn’t have any flour – I go through it like crazy!

  2. calidreamergirl / Jun 12 2010 7:45 pm

    This is my favorite PB cookie recipe, I found it years ago and have not made them any other way since. Very good also if rolled in sugar before baking or if you add a Hershey Kiss in the center after they are baked 🙂

Leave a Reply

