Skip to content
May 21, 2010 / Sarah

National Quiche Lorraine Day


I never liked Quiche when I was little but over the years I have grown to love them.  I can’t quite remember my reasoning behind not liking them and I can’t think of why I wouldn’t have liked them.  What’s not to like?  Quiche Lorraine is full of things I love – cheese, bacon or ham, and eggs.  It’s like breakfast, my favorite meal, but for dinner!  My version of Quiche Lorraine is trying to be a bit healthier, I make it crustless, but feel free to make a basic pie crust or use a pre-made crust from the freezer.

Crustless Quiche Lorraine
Adapted from Emeril Lagasse

Cooking spray
1 tablespoon margarine
6 ounces ham, diced
1 large onions, thinly sliced
1 teaspoon chopped fresh thyme leaves
1/2 cup grated swiss cheese
3 eggs
1 1/4 cups heavy cream
1 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
1/8 teaspoon ground nutmeg

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.  Spray a deep 9-inch pie pan or a 8-inch square baking dish with cooking spray and set aside.
  2. Melt the margarine in a saute pan over medium-high heat.  Add the ham and cook until browned.  Remove from the pan to a plate lined with paper towels.  Let drain briefly, then scatter over the bottom of the prepared pie pan.
  3. Cook the onions and thyme in the same saute pan, stirring occasionally until onions start to caramelize, about 6 minutes.  Scatter the onions over the ham in the pan plate.  Evenly sprinkle the swiss cheese over the top of the onions and ham.
  4. Whisk together the eggs, heavy cream, salt, pepper, and nutmeg in a large bowl.  Pour the egg mixture over the ham, onions, and cheese.
  5. Cook the Quiche on the bottom rack of the preheated oven for 40 to 45 minutes, or until the eggs are set and the top is golden brown.  Allow to cool slightly before serving.
One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Ashley Kosher / May 21 2010 10:01 pm

    I’m pretty sure my family used this recipe on Easter. yum!

Leave a Reply

