Skip to content
January 12, 2010 / Sarah

National Curried Chicken Day


Thai Red Chicken Curry

Thai Red Curry Chicken
Adapted from Thai Kitchen

1 14 oz. coconut milk
1 ½ tbsp red curry paste
2 chicken breasts, sliced
1 ½ tbsp fish sauce
2 tbsp sugar
½ cup frozen peas
4 oz. button mushrooms, sliced
½ large red bell pepper, diced
1 14 oz. can baby corn spears, cut into bite sized pieces
1 package rice noodles

  1. In a tea kettle, bring enough water to a boil to cover the rice noodles.  Place rice noodles in a large bowl.  Once the water comes to a boil, pour it over the rice noodles.  Let soak for 10 minutes.
  2. In a large saucepan, simmer the coconut milk and curry paste over medium heat for 5 minutes.
  3. Add the chicken, peas, red bell pepper, baby corn, mushrooms, fish sauce, and sugar.  Simmer for 10 minutes, stirring occasionally until all ingredients are cooked.
  4. Serve the curry over the softened rice noodles.

The original recipe only calls for peas, but I usually just use whatever leftover vegetables I have.  It’s also usually served over jasmine rice, but I decided to try rice noodles this time – I’ll probably go back to rice next time because the noodles seemed to dilute the curry flavor too much.  Or I guess I could just add more curry paste!

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Kristy / Jan 12 2010 1:46 pm

    I enjoyed reading why you are putting yourself up to the challenge. Julie and Julia was an inspiring movie to me as well and motiviated me to finally get one of my personal sites up and running. And why not — it’s turning out to be a fun hobbie/project. Now I just need to include more excercise into the daily cooking routine. Have a great one – I look forward to reading more! – kristy

  2. Sarah / Jan 14 2010 9:07 pm

    Kristy – I agree about including more exercise! I’ll be a million pounds by the end of the year with all those sweets otherwise!

  3. Erin Jones / Jan 17 2010 3:23 pm

    I found all the stuff you recommended in the Asian section of Scolaris (including Jasmine Rice…although it looks no different than white rice). I can’t wait to try your recipe.

    • Sarah / Jan 17 2010 4:48 pm

      It doesn’t look much different, but it smells and tastes different! Glad you found everything, let me know how you like it!

  4. Kristan Lape / Jan 23 2010 1:42 pm

    Good writing. I appreciate you for posting it. Keep up the great work.

Leave a Reply

