Skip to content
January 3, 2010 / Sarah

National Chocolate Covered Cherry Day


 

Chocolate Covered Cherries
Adapted from All Recipes 

35 maraschino cherries with stems
3 tablespoons butter, softened
3 tablespoons corn syrup
2 cups sifted powdered sugar
1 pound chocolate confectioners’ coating, semi-sweet 

  • Drain cherries and set on paper towels to dry.
  •  

  • In a medium bowl, combine butter and corn syrup until smooth. Mix in powdered sugar with your hands and knead to form a dough. Chill to stiffen if necessary.
  •  

  • Flatten about 1 tsp of dough into a small circle and wrap a cherry in it, pinching off any excess.  Repeat until all cherries are wrapped in the dough.  Chill until firm
  •  

  • Melt confectioners’ coating in a heavy saucepan over low heat. Dip each cherry in by its stem or using a toothpick, and place on waxed paper lined sheets. Chill until completely set. Store in an airtight container in a cool place. Best after 1 or 2 weeks.
  •  

     

    The original recipe called for 60 cherries, but I bought a jar of about 35, but kept the rest of the measurements the same (I forgot that I had planned to cut the recipe in half).  I am glad that I made that “mistake” though because I had just a little bit too much of the sugar dough at the end of my 35 cherries.  Also, I couldn’t find cherries that still had stems, so after I had them wrapped in the sugar dough, I just stuck a toothpick in them while I dipped them chocolate.  I patched up the toothpick hole with a little dab of chocolate.  Doing this made it a little difficult, as the cherries had the tendency to move around on the toothpick quite a bit, but I guess it was better then dipping my fingers into the hot chocolate! 

    These are very sweet and I can imagine eating more than one, maybe two, in one sitting.  The package of chocolate I used wasn’t too specific about whether it was milk chocolate or not (but looking at the ingredients, I’m pretty sure it was).  I think if I were to make these again, I would opt for semi-sweet chocolate.

    3 Comments

    Leave a Comment
    1. Annette / Jan 3 2010 7:04 pm

      Good points, I think I will definitely subscribe!🙂. I’ll go and read some more!

    2. Erin Jones / Jan 3 2010 9:06 pm

      I love the tips you included at the bottom. Great job improvising with the toothpicks. 🙂

    3. Rebecca / Jan 4 2010 1:57 pm

      Found your link on Serious Eats and love your idea! Good luck!

    Leave a Reply

