Skip to content
December 31, 2009 / Sarah

And so begins Food Project 2010


I’ve been wanting to do a “food project” –  I considered trying a new food every week or making something you would normally buy pre-made (bread, yogurt, etc.).  But then I got inspired by things like Julie & Julia and Noah (the guy who took a picture of himself everyday for six years) and figured why not do a year long “food project”?

Every month is a designated food month (or two or three… or four?) and almost every day is dedicated to a food. My project will involve incorporating those national food months and days into my weekly menu (yes, I make a menu and grocery list every week…) and photographing my progress (a good way to make use of my new Canon Rebel!)

I’m sure I’ll encounter some foods that I’ve never heard of (what the heck is Welsh Rarebit?!), but that just makes it all the more exciting. The rules aren’t set in stone yet, because I’ve only skimmed the list of foods, but I may have to revise my plan as I go.  Refer to December 18 – National Roast Suckling Pig Day; I am 100% positive that I will not be able to make a Roast Suckling Pig.  Any ideas on what to do on these days – give a history or a collection of recipes?  Take the poll on the left to give me some ideas.

The National Food Holiday page will show you all of the Food Holidays and the About the Project page is basically the same information you just read.  I may update this page periodically as the project progresses.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Cassaendra / Jan 3 2010 9:40 am

    Yikes! It seems like every day there is a food celebration. In the near future, I look forward to your Tempura and International Hot & Spicy Food Day, and further out, May is National Asparagus Month, National Hazelnut Cake Day in June, and Four Prunes Day in October.

    Good luck!

Leave a Reply

